Local NewsSt. Mary Parish

St. Mary Parish Students of the Year Named

St. Mary Parish public school students recently participated in the Student of the Year competition, directed by Ms. Tammy Drexler, Program Manager. Parish winners are:

  • FIFTH GRADE: Ella Mae Billiot, Bayou Vista Elementary School
  • EIGHTH GRADE: Cherish Alana Lewis, Berwick Jr. High School
  • TWELFTH GRADE: Luke Anthony Orlando, Berwick Sr. High School

The Student of the Year Award Program is designed to recognize outstanding elementary, middle/junior, and high school students. This program is an excellent opportunity to acknowledge students from each parish who have demonstrated exceptional academic achievement, leadership ability, and citizenship. The Student of the Year Award Program is sponsored by the Louisiana State Superintendent through the Louisiana Department of Education and the State Board of Elementary and Secondary Education. Parish winners will participate in a regional competition to be hosted in St. Mary Parish (5th grade), Jefferson Parish (8th grade), and Plaquemines Parish (12th grade) during the month of February with winners proceeding to a state competition. School-level winners also included:

    Alayna Tran, Aucoin Elementary School
    Elijah Vinning, Berwick Elementary School
    Clara Steiner, Centerville Elementary School
    Zariya McGhee, Foster Elementary School
    Valeria Luna, Norman Elementary School
    Jackson Gierman, Patterson Jr. High School
    Broden Notto Willis, Raintree Elementary School
    Emma Mancuso, Wyandotte Elementary School
    Courtney Trosclair, B. E. Boudreaux Middle School
    Christian Lopez, Franklin Junior High School
    Sarah Daniels, Morgan City Jr. High School
    Cooper Lagarde, Patterson Jr. High School
    Nina Lofton, Centerville High School
    Destiny Phillips, Franklin High School
    Michelle Lam, Morgan City High School
    Victoria Rideau, Patterson Senior High School
    Tianaye White, West St. Mary High School
Show More

Leave a Reply

Back to top button
Skip to content