Local NewsSt. Mary Parish

St. Mary Announces Assistant Principals for the 2020-2021 School Year

St. Mary Superintendent Dr. Teresa Bagwell announced several appointments today, to secure all leadership positions and allow for attendance at required trainings in advance of the 2020-2021 school year. Principal appointments completed June 2, 2020 as well as resignations and retirements at the end of the school year perpetuated additional openings in which qualified candidates were interviewed and selections were made to fill all existing openings. This year’s assistant principal appointments include naming those who have been serving in acting roles.

Changes to school leadership include the appointment of assistant principals to three high schools. Morgan City High School teacher Ms. Lacie Hotard will fill the assistant principal vacancy at Morgan City High School of Mr. Dennis McDill who resigned to relocate to another state. During the 2019-2020 school year, Centerville High School assistant principal, Ms. Tammilee Kelly, moved into an acting principal role for Wyandotte Elementary School. She was recently named principal of Wyandotte Elementary School resulting in Ms. Angela Brinkley, acting assistant principal at Centerville High School for the school, being appointed in that spot permanently. With the retirement of Ms. Terry Duchane assistant principal at Franklin High School, former Patterson Junior High School physical education teacher and coach, Ms. Bianca Bennett has been appointed to fill Ms. Duchane’s spot. Additionally, Ms. Noelle Lowrimore, who was serving as the acting assistant principal at Berwick High School, has been permanently placed in that position.

Two junior highs have new permanent appointments as well. Berwick Junior High School acting assistant principal Mr. Ryan Taylor will remain at Berwick Junior High School while Patterson Junior High School will see the addition of former Lagrange Elementary School special education teacher, Ms. Almetra Pierce-Stansbury as a new administrator. She will be filling the vacancy of Ms. Dequindra Redding who resigned during the school year to assume an administrator role in St. Martin Parish.

With the appointment of Ms. Tonya Hills, former assistant principal at Hattie Watts to principal of Raintree Elementary School in early June, Dr. Bagwell has appointed Ms. Ronica LaPoint, former curriculum facilitator for Hattie Watts Elementary School and Patterson Junior High School. Ms. LaPoint also served as the acting assistant principal at Patterson Junior High during the spring semester 2020 when Ms. Redding resigned.

All candidates receiving administrative appointments were informed of their promotions to facilitate a smooth transition and offer opportunities for attendance at district trainings according to their administrative assignments. Appointments will become official based on the district’s administrative calendar for the position and may be adjusted due to the unique circumstances of any given school.


Show More

Leave a Reply

Back to top button
Skip to content